Posted by: Bro. Lawrence D. | March 26, 2009

The Power of Who Christ Is!

If I haven’t told you before, I’m a big fan of the “Daily Audio Bible with Brian Harden”. When I found out that one of the programs on Itunes featured someone reading through the bible in a year, I had to have it. It has truly been a blessing in my life. Brian, and sometimes his wife Jill, read a passage each day from the Old Testament, one from the New Testament and then a passage each from Psalms and Proverbs, respectively. The also have a program called the “Daily Audio Proverb” where Brian reads through the Proverbs, one per day for a month. Every now and then he will read through a passage that I’ve read maybe hundreds of times and suddenly the light will come on and I’ll get an understanding. Or something there will simply resonate with me on a personal level.  It has happened with such passages as Genesis 28:10-17 (Truly the Lord was in this place and I didn’t know it!) and John 21:15-17 (Lord, You know all things; You know that I love You). Well last night at work, it happened again. Here was the passage:

 

Luke 7:1-10 (NASB) – When He had completed all His discourse in the hearing of the people, He went to Capernaum. And a centurion’s slave, who was highly regarded by him, was sick and about to die. When he heard about Jesus, he sent some Jewish elders asking Him to come and save the life of his slave. When they came to Jesus, they earnestly implored Him, saying, “He is worthy for You to grant this to him; for he loves our nation and it was he who built us our synagogue.” Now Jesus started on His way with them; and when He was not far from the house, the centurion sent friends, saying to Him, “Lord, do not trouble Yourself further, for I am not worthy for You to come under my roof; for this reason I did not even consider myself worthy to come to You, but just say the word, and my servant will be healed. For I also am a man placed under authority, with soldiers under me; and I say to this one, ‘Go!’ and he goes, and to another, ‘Come!’ and he comes, and to my slave, ‘Do this!’ and he does it.” Now when Jesus heard this, He marveled at him, and turned and said to the crowd that was following Him, “I say to you, not even in Israel have I found such great faith.” When those who had been sent returned to the house, they found the slave in good health.

 

As many times as I have read this passage myself, it never dawned on me why Christ was so impressed with this man. And how did he demonstrate great faith? Was it because he heard about Jesus being a miracle worker and believing that he sent for Jesus? Was it because he admitted that he wasn’t worthy? Was it because he believed that Jesus had the ability to just speak the word? 

I would say that, though these things were certainly born of faith, they were not what actually impressed Christ. Think about it, all of these  actions and attitudes could easily be directed at a miracle working prophet. But it was the comparing of his own earthly authority with that of the Lord’s that demonstrated his faith that Jesus was more than that. He believed that just as the authority that he had gave him power to command his subjects, Christ’ authority gave Him power over everything. Thereby, making everything  subject to His command. He recognized Who Jesus was and that it was directly connected to why He could do what He could. It’s also peculiar that his faith had come by what he had heard, not experienced. Faith truly does come by hearing and hearing by the word of Christ. (see Romans 10:17) I had never seen that before. It is about Who Jesus is! That’s the key to everything. It even brought to mind what Jesus said a few verses before these:

Luke 6:46 – “Why do you call Me, ‘Lord, Lord’ and do not do what I say?”

Jesus based obedience to Him on the truth of His Lordship. He being truly Lord is enough to demand total devotion and obedience from His subjects, which includes everyone.

So, brother, and sister, I implore you to recognize today the One “with whom we have to do” for Who He is! Understand that your needs are met because of Who He is. What He can do in, through, and for you is because of Who He is! What He commands of you is worthy to be obeyed because of Who He is! The promises that He has made to you are sure because of Who He is!

Master, Lord, and Sovereign King! Bless His Holy Name!

Responses

  1. This is actually a slap in the face of the Jews. In Chapter 6 they had saw Jesus grow back a hand on the Sabbath and was more concerned that He was doing work on the Sabbath versus a man being healed. They had saw him speak the man’s hand into existince and still didn’t believe.

    The centurion had not experienced any miracles he had only “heard” of Jesus; however based of what He heard He believes that Jesus can just speak (as you pointed out showing His Lordship over everythign, though the centurion himself was a lord in his own right) and his servant be healed. So he believed befor seeing as a gentile while the Jews didn’t believe after seeing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

