Posted by: Bro. Lawrence D. | March 11, 2009

I Might Be Crazy!

Sometimes I wish I was a little more computer savvy. Reason being , I would love to play a theme song with this post. My choice? “Crazy” by GnarlesBarkley. I don’t know the actual lyrics to the song, I just remember being somewhere and hearing the chorus, “I might be craze-ay, does that make me craze-ay” and so on. I loved it. It was hilarious. It was one of those songs that I couldn’t get out of my head for a while but I was okay with that. Even my kids started to make fun of me because it seemed like at every opportunity I was letting that chorus fly out of my mouth. Any way….

Acts 26:24 (NASB) “While Paul was saying this in his defense, Festus said in a loud voice, “Paul, you are out of your mind! Your great learning is driving you mad.”

This isn’t an exposition of the text so pardon my folly a bit. But this is actually the reaction that I’ve been getting lately from many of my own family members. Since, on a broad scale, anti-intellectualism is rampant in the Body of Christ, it really should come as no surprise that people would react this way to what they consider to be “new” information/teaching. But I can’t help being shocked at the reaction that a lot of  them are having. These are the people who forced me to go to church. These are the people who emphatically demanded that the bible had all the answers. These are the people who would be considered “bible thumpers” by most people they met. And in the end, they couldn’t care less about what the bible actually teaches or putting it into practice. Maybe I shouldn’t say it that way. Really, they just believe that their current understanding of the bible and the practices that result are sufficient and don’t need reexamining. Yea, that’s a better way of putting it.

Recently, I was complaining to my wife about the whole thing.

(Really, I was bemoaning the fact that even buying the books and handing them out to my family, without any commentary of my own, was met with suspicion. One family member even refered to one of the books as “demon possessed”! And the question arose, “then what does that say about me?”)

I was telling my wife, “Honey, why didn’t God just let me be ignorant? Why didn’t He allow me to just continue believing and practicing the same old, same old.? Why do I sometimes feel like I must be the one who is off?” Her response was classic. She said, “Honey, would you really want it that way?!”. She was right. There was no way I would exchange the revelation and illumination that God, throught the Holy Spirit, has given me concerning His Son and the Body. NO WAY!

So if that means that I’ll be the outcast and stigmatized, then just play my theme song…….

I MIGHT BE CRAZE-AY! I MIGHT BE CRAZE-AY!……..

Responses

  1. BLD,

    I will place the lyrics at the bottom of this response but when you readthem you will set that by the end of the song he notices that he is actually the sane one and everyone else is crazy. The elitist mindset has people to believe that they are always right and need not learn or know anything else. I see this constantly when i question others on their beleifs;not to shame them but for clarity for myself. they speak craziness with no biblical precedence whatsoever.
    Check the lyrics….I think Cee-Lo packs a major message in thius song personally.

    I remember when, I remember, I remember when I lost my mind
    There was something so pleasant about that place.
    Even your emotions had an echo, and so much space

    And when you’re out there, without care, yeah, I was out of touch.
    But it wasn’t because I didn’t know enough
    I just knew too much

    Does that make me crazy?
    Does that make me crazy?
    Does that make me crazy?
    Possibly

    And I hope that you are having the time of your life
    But think twice, that’s my only advice
    Come on now, who do you, who do you, who do you, who do you think you are,
    Ha ha ha, bless your soul
    You really think you’re in control

    Well, I think you’re crazy
    I think you’re crazy
    I think you’re crazy
    Just like me

    My heroes had the heart to do their lives out on a limb
    And all I remember is thinking, I want to be like them
    Ever since I was little, ever since I was little it looked like fun
    And it’s no coincidence I’ve come
    And I can die when I’m done

    But maybe I’m crazy
    Maybe you’re crazy
    Maybe we’re crazy
    Probably

  2. Bro. Brian,

    LOL! That’s it brother, that’s it! I knew I liked that song for a reason.

    We’re all crazy!

  3. AKA the professor yea you are crazy for studying more and more and doing 1 Thess, 5:21. Lets not forget these people they only won’t people to sit down and say amen to them thats it. Also don’t do acts 17:11 just accept all of their words and say amen. Btw you are crazy just like me lol for saying i must go own with or without them. Keep going my friend and don’t look back. Your strengh comes from the Lord and his word.

  4. DTG,

    You are partially to blame for my insanity! Thank you very not! Much love brother!

  5. Crazy…live with bro. I am learning that as our beliefs get challenged, it should cause us to look into and examine God’s Word more and more. I was telling my wife, we must examine for ourselves what scripture says, not just believe what a pastor or another intelligent christian has told us. When people see you actually allow the Holy Spirit to illuminate His Word and revelation, (lol) you are labeled crazy. Just think, what will God call you though? That’s truly all that matters. Keep furthering yourself in Christ Jesus.

  6. Bro. KM,

    You know brother, I am really trying to figure this thing out. I know that they falsely accused our Savior of many horrible things and He said that if the world hated Him, it would hate us. I just didn’t see a lot of the “hate” coming from those who professed to no longer be “of the world”.

  7. Bro. Lawrence,
    I’m crazy in love with Jesus could be another way of putting our desire to tell others of what we are seeing.

    Bro. you said,
    “I was telling my wife, “Honey, why didn’t God just let me be ignorant? Why didn’t He allow me to just continue believing and practicing the same old, same old.?”

    If I may could I put this in there? What if God just let Paul be ignorant? Why didn’t he allow him to continue down the same path of practicing and believing what he did?
    Because He had great plans for Paul. He knew Paul would have the fervency to carry out the gospel message even after being tortured.

    So I know you are not Paul. You are Bro. Lawerence.
    So just as Paul had fervency to preach and proclaim the truth to those he once was trained up by. God knew that Paul could do the work of presenting the truth to those same people without fear.
    I am in the same boat as well as others we are not any better than our families or friends no. We are just part of a bunch of fools who God chose to show us what is going on. So in turn we could go and preach the foolishness of the cross to those who don’t see it yet.
    You are a humble servant, saved by grace. And people see that. God knew that and you present it.
    Amen!

  8. Bro. SOwen,

    Good word brother! Good word! I must reflect upon those facts more man. As I tell all my brothers, “God’s revelation doesn’t come cheap!”

  9. I love this post. It describes a conversation between my wife and I almost perfectly. Of course my wifes words were this: “You wouldn’t be happy if people didn’t think you were strange.” I had to agree for the most part.

    I agree. I wouldn’t trade my strangeness for anything else.

  10. Welcome Brother Mark,

    I have read some of your ariticles by linking from Brother Lionel’s blog. Please stop by more often and bring some of your wisdom and insight.

  11. “but we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength. “…

    pretty stoked I found your blog BLD… there are plenty of us crazy fools for Jesus out there, and we’re glad that you’re one that God has brought across our path…

  12. Brother Daniel!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I’m just as stoked! Now you can bring the noise on these post. Welcome bro!


Leave a Reply

Categories

