Posted by: Bro. Lawrence D. | January 31, 2009

My Favorite Attribute of God

By far, my favorite attribute of God is His faithfulness. Now I don’t mean to start a debate. Nor do I expect anyone to one-up me on this one. This isn’t a matter of right and wrong but simply one of personal opinion. For me, God’s faithfulness is key.

Because God’s faithfulness is something that I personally experience, I am able to put full confidence in every other attribute that the bible tells me describes His character and nature. Again, for me, when it comes to trusting in God’s omnipresence, omnipotence, omnicience, love, righteousness, graciousness and holiness, everything is  dependent upon His faithfulness.

When God is faithfully present, powerful, knowing, loving, righteous, gracious, and holy (as He always is), then I can rest assured that I am in great care. I can rest assured that my decision (as influenced by Him as it was) to wager all my chips on His promises was not really a gamble at all.

And to be sure, I could rattle of many, many, many instances where God has truly been faithful to me. From birth till now, there is not one instance where God has ever failed me. Sure, things haven’t always been rosey. I haven’t gotten everything that I’ve asked for in prayer. And no doubt I’ve been disappointed at times with His decisions for my life. But it hasn’t ever taken very long for me to see that He knew exactly what was best for me. I can now think of so many of those prayer requests that I’m glad He didn’t grant. I can think of so many of those decisions He made that I’m glad weren’t made in the direction I wanted them to go in.

But the greatest token of God faithfulness to me has been in regards to salvation. And although I’m a New Covenant believer, I can say like Moses in Deuteronomy 7:9; 

“Know therefore that the Lord your God, He is God, the faithful God, who keeps His covenant and His lovingkindness to a thousandth generation with those who love Him and keep His commandments;”

And the apostle Paul picks up on the truth of God’s faithfulness in relation to salvation in I Corinthians 1:9;

“God is faithful, through whom you were called into fellowship with His Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.”

Paul also founds the strength to endure temptation in God’s faithfulness in I Corinthians 10:13;

“No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of excape also, so that you will be able to endure it.”

And in I Thessalonians 5:23-4 Paul prays for the believers confidently because of God’s faithfulness:

“Now may the God of peace Himself sanctify you entirely, and may your spirit and soul and body be preserved complete, without blame at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. Faithful is He who calls you, and He also will bring it to pass.”

In II Thessalonians 3:3 Paul makes a promise to the believers there confidently because of God’s faithfulness. He writes:

“But the Lord is faithful, and He will strengthen and protect you from the evil one.”

Because of the faithfulness of God the writer of Hebrews (I vote for Apollos, sorry Big L, LOL)  admonishes and encourages those believers against apostasy by writing:

“Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful;”

I could go on and on. The bible is full of instances where God is both described as being faithful and the believers hope is assured by God’s faithfulness.

Now rather this is also your favorite attribute of God or not, it doesn’t really matter. All I want you to do is that you would take a moment out of your day just to think about God’s faithfulness to you. Let your mind go back and forth over the many experiences you’ve had where you know for sure it was the faithfulness of God that got you through. If you get a chance, share that with another believer who you know is going through something. Maybe it will remind them of times in their own lives and encourage them in their present situation. Better still, share it with a non-believer. Maybe even one with whom you have already shared the gospel. Give testimony to the faithfulness of the One to whom you have entrusted your soul.

Who knows, by the end of today, you may also regard His faithfulness as your favorite attribute too!

I love you all! Be blessed!

Responses

  1. BLD,

    It is funny that the entire Old Testament is building a case for God’s faithfulness. Isn’t most of sin wrapped in our lack of trust in God’s faithfulness. We respond in ways we shouldn’t when in turn we should trust Hm. Its funny that as I move forward that I don’t risk my own life and entrust it in the hands of a faithful God, I wonder why God doesn’t use me as radically as those in the scripture and I believe it is because I don’t risk as much as they do nor do I trust as much as they do. This is very convicting bro.

  2. Bro. Lionel,

    Consider me convicted with you. Trust in God has really been in the forefront of many issues I’ve faced as of late. From the situation with my co-workers daughter to the bible study group meeting at my house on Tuesday, sooner or later we are going to have to learn to trust God all the way. If we don’t, then that just may call into question what faith we do say we have in Him! Lord help us!


Leave a Reply

Categories

