Posted by: Bro. Lawrence D. | January 24, 2009

It’s Over My Head….I Guess?

Some of you reading this may be put off by the title. Because you have read things that I’ve written before or maybe you’ve even spoken to me over the phone, you may consider me a pretty smart fellow and are wondering what could possibly be over my head. Well, thanks for the vote of confidence but this one really has me stumped. What could this massive conundrum be? It is simply this:

WHY ARE THOSE WHO CLAIM TO BELIEVE IN THE SOVEREIGNTY OF GOD SEEIMINGLY GIVING UP THAT BELIEF SINCE BARACK OBAMA HAS BEEN VOTED INTO THE PRESIDENCY OF THE UNITED STATES?!

One thing that is leading me to this observation is the apparent abandonment of Christian parameters of speech and behavior towards the man by some professing Christians. If you search the “conservative Christian” blogs and websites you may notice that the subject matter of most of the publications, including podcast, is President Barack Obama. Even if not for the entire program, many do not fail to mention his inauguration nor how they feel his policies will “transform the very fabric of our society”.  You may also notice that 99.9999999999999% of the statements about him are negative. Not just about the man’s policies but about the man himself. You may hear descriptions of President Obama like, “weak”, “godless”, “ignorant”, “feminized”, and even “stupid”! I even heard one commentator describe his wife Michelle Obama, our new First Lady, as a bull dog.

You may also, like me, notice that people are trying really hard to make sure that you know that President Obama is not a real Christian. You may also notice that neither Presidents Bill Clinton nor George W. Bush received this much attention from these same people. So what’s going on here?

Now don’t get me wrong. I didn’t vote for President Obama and for several reasons. One, I don’t agree with his stance on abortion. Two, for all his talk of “change” he never said what he would change things to or how. Three, I wanted a third party candidate to make a good showing so that ,maybe we can eventually move away from the two party system where the winner being from one of them is a forgone conclusion. 

 

And let’s fact it, all of these individuals have a right to their opinion. They even have a right to express it. But biblically, if they are professing Christians, I don’t believe they are right to do so. Why? Here’s a couple of texts of scripture that governs our speech AT ALL TIMES: (By the way, yes I’m guilty of violating these texts)

Ephesians 4:29 (NASB) “Let no unwholesome word proceed from you mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification, according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear.

Colossians 4:5-6 (NASB) “Conduct yourselves with wisdom toward outsiders, making the most of the opportunity. Let your speech always be with grace, as though seasoned with salt, so that you will know how to respond to each person.”

In both cases grace is enjoined. Since grace is undeserved or unmerited favor, then there seems to be no way around adhering to the imperitives of these verses. Even when the person being spoken about is found to be utterly dispicable, as these people find President Barack Obama to be, the Christian’s speech should not be affected.

But back to the “Sovereignty of God” issue. Most of the “conservative Christian” crowd are Calvinists. If anybody insist upon the sovereignty of God in everything, it’s the Calvinist. But lately I’ve been hearing the sovereignty of God being trumped by the fear of Obama. Those who are for Obama are accused of not only worshipping the man but also of being caught up in Obamamania. Well, I’m going to accuse those who are against Obama of being caught up in Obamahysteria! I’ve heard words like “frightened”, “fearful”, “devastated”. And phrases like, “he’s going to destroy America”, “God must be judging us”, “America no longer looks like the place I grew up in” and other such foolishness.

Now my only conclusion is that these same people have forgotten that God is sovereign. The same God that put Pharoah, Cyrus, Darius, Xerxes, Herod, Pilate, Ceasar, Nero, and even Hitler in power, is the same God that put Washington, Lincoln, Roosevelt, Kennedy, Reagan, Bush 1, Clinton, Bush 2 and yes, even Obama in the office of the presidency. The very same sovereign God. All for His own purpose and His own glory. Just because the election didn’t go your way doesn’t mean that God has abandoned you. 

So relax Christian. God is still on the throne. 

Or maybe whatever point you were trying to make with all that needless negativity just went over my head…….I guess?!

Responses

  1. Brother LD,

    I think that it is not about his Christianity or lack thereof but simply based upon the fact that he is black. I am not a big fan of Obama but I have said that it is part of the plan as it was with Bush and those before him.

    So I agree they need to chill…..

  2. Bro. Brian,

    You know brother, I had to stay away from the race issue for several reasons:

    1. I’m trying to get away from believing that that is at the root of every unfair treatment Blacks receive.

    2. I have never heard or met anyone, black or white, who was willing to admit that the reasons for their inconsistency was indeed racism.

    3. How would that charge fit if the commentator or writer is Black themselves? I don’t think that every time a Black man has to criticize another that it makes him an Uncle Tom or self-hater. In the same way that some people are hating Obama, some Blacks were hating and disrespecting Condeleeza Rice and Colin Powell.

    I did notice a switch while listening to one Black pastor. He has two co-hosts, one Black and one White. The White co-host was not able to be on the show but called in later. While it was just the pastor and his black co-host, he only had a problem with Obama’s policies not the man himself. But when he got on the phone with the White co-host, suddenly he had a problem with the man and the name-calling begin. I was so disappointed because I know this pastor personally.

  3. Brother LD,

    I would not say that every cause for the treatement and the statements are due to his race but I really believe that is what it stems from.

    Also I would have to say that there are some black reporters or commentators who are blacks that have dissed other blacks not o much on their politics but just as a way to stay with the in crowd.(ie. Juan Williams) He constantly writes and talks about inner city youth like they are pure garbage.

    In a nutshell Brother LD race is a major problem with a lot of evangelical Christians. You can look at most churches on Sunday morning and see that this is true. My problem is not that people have this issue it is that they will not be honest about and that is why you #2. I have done it myself and I see it all the time. It took me to go to a white liberal Lutheran Seminary to see that I did not like white people. I am thankful that God dealt with me on that and I was able to change.

  4. Bro. Brian,

    I’m glad with you and am praying that God would do something similar with me. My problem is being suspicious of police officers in general, no matter what their race. I always think that they are malicious when they shoot someone. I find them guilty automatically. But I acknowledge that their jobs are difficult and I wouldn’t want to be in their shoes.

  5. Bro. Lawrence,
    I have not personally heard anybody in my community of believers/friends talk bad about Obama just for being black.
    Most I hear from are against his policies and have as much disdain for him as they did with Clinton.
    I’m still waiting for the world to end as that is some comments I have heard if Obama got elected. I think it is sick and that it shows we still need to be sanctified. Reformed or not. If we are a Christian then we need to be praying for our leaders as instructed by our creator. We are all one flesh! Made from one flesh Jesus. Until Christians wake up and see the light of Acts 17 :26 “And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth…”
    I’m afraid we will still have this garbage being spoken out even in Christian circles.
    I for one had to have a realization of this from the standpoint of Obama being a democrat.
    As the Lord reminded me He is in control and all I need to do is to pray for our leaders.
    Steven Owen

  6. Bro. SOwen,

    I’m with you. I realized that it was possible for Obama’s polices on abortion alone to bring out the worst in the “religious right”. For that reason I was willing to forgo my usual suspicion of racial motivation.

    However, as you pointed out these same people had a problem with Clinton but not with Bush and as far as I know innocent babies and unborn babies are being killed in Afganistan and Iraq by bombing. Even Robert Gates was quoted as saying that they needed to be more tactical and precise because too many innocent dying was causing them to lose popularity in Afganistan. So for me it is hypocritical to blast Obama’s abortion stance while supporting Bush’s policy to “blast” innocents in a war.

    All I want is consistency.


Leave a Reply

Categories

