Posted by: Bro. Lawrence D. | October 30, 2008

God is the Glue!

Just a short post.

Nine years ago today, the Gracious Lord blessed me to marry the most wonderful woman I have ever known, my wife Rikisha. Our marriage has been under attack from outside forces since the announcement was made. However, God has been there to make sure that no matter what was coming at us from outside pressures, we never became one another’s enemy. Sure, we’ve had those rough times of meshing two different personalities and backgrounds. We’ve struggled to respect one another’s passions or lack there of, concerning various issues. All and all, God has been there to keep the fire of love burning in our hearts for one another. Barring our deaths or the coming of the Lord (sorry D, I ain’t there yet, LOL) I plan to grow very old with Rikisha. I’m not looking for an exit and neither is she. In fact, the more we both understand about the grace that God has extended us in His Son through the gospel, the more grace we are prepared to extend to one another. Love truly does cover a multitude of faults. And that helps when you have two broken vessels striving to co-exist. But truly….

God is the glue!

Responses

  1. Happy Anniverssary brother!

  2. When I was seeking the Lord many years back, one of the numerous things that spoke to me was to see a Black Christian man who loved his wife and children. It may seem crazy to some, but it was my experience; the overwhelming majority of Black relationships that I knew were marred by infidelity. Even though I wasn’t saved I saw a beauty in this man’s marriage and I knew that the beauty stemmed from this man’s faith in Christ.

    Just want to thank you for the post – it for me it is the kind of comment that is so lacking in “Reformed” cyberspace.

    Congratulations on the 9th year Bro!

  3. Bro. Lionel,

    Thanks for you continuing prayers!

    Bro. Cushie,

    Yes my brother, it is possible to have and see relationships like the one God has blessed me with. I take none of the credit because I know how my ungraciousness towards my wife in the past could have cost me everything! God is the glue!

  4. HAPPY 9th ANNIVERSARY LAWRENCE & RIKISHA!!!
    i agree, Jesus is the glue. the psalmist even hinted at it when he said there is a friend that STICKETH closer than a brother. :o)

    God bless you both~ hallelujah!

  5. Sis. Mrs. Mav,

    Thank you my sister. We’ve got a long way to go before we catch up with you and the old man (LOL) so keep us in prayer!

  6. Praise God..9 years…my hat goes off to you bro. I am pleased to know you through the blogworld and your dedication to your wife and family. Christ has done a marvelous thing in your marriage. Amen bro

    Karsten Miller

  7. I wish you guys many more together. So the professor can grow old like his friend lol. Also to your other point we have a long time on that to work on lol love you guys.


Leave a Reply

Categories

